WeChat is one of many internationally known conversation apps used by those around the world interested in communicating over mobile data connections rather than through phone service. It’s easy to install and get started, but the process to delete your account is not as simple as the creation process. Here is how to delete WeChat account:
1. Your account on WeChat is not linked to the downloaded application itself, meaning you will have to complete a deletion process rather than just removing the application. Deleting the app does not get rid of your account, so you will need to start the process on your own.
2. Do not delete the app before starting the removal process. There are steps which require action on the application. Open the application and sign in to your WeChat account in order to begin the process.
3. Go to your settings and click on the “Clear Chat History” button within the list of options. When you are prompted to confirm the action, click the “Clear Chat History” option again to confirm that you wish to delete all messages from every conversation you have in your current history.
NOTE: Once you delete your chat history you will not be able to recover it at all. Chat history is not saved to any external servers and is therefore unable to be accessed again after it is cleared from your phone.
4. After removing the chat history, you must remove connections to third parties linked to your WeChat account. Under the settings tab you will need to click on the “My Account” option. This will lead you to a new page that lists all third parties connected to the WeChat application.
5. For each third party app connected to the WeChat application, revoke the rights to access WeChat. Afterwards, click to unlink the third party services. These services include things like Facebook, Twitter, and others. Disconnect all of the third party apps. The only thing which should be mentioned in your account is the verified email address. Keep this activated so that you can prove the ownership of the account when you contact WeChat.
6. After you have cleared the chat history and disconnected third party apps, you must send a request to WeChat to have your account removed. The staff members know how to delete WeChat account, which you are unable to do yourself, so you are required to email them a request if you want your account permanently deleted. You should receive a correspondence via your verified email once it is deleted. You can remove the application any time after you have completed necessary actions within the in-app settings.
HOW TO RETRIEVE A DELETED WECHAT ACCOUNT
After accounts are deleted, you will be unable to recover them. You can however create a new account using the same phone number if the account previously associated with that number was completely deleted. This is your only option after an account is deleted, so be sure that you want your account to be permanently removed before you go through the deletion process now that you know how to delete WeChat account.